Rebecca Smith

Rebecca Smith (author), represented by Sarah Lutyens

Rebecca Smith’s most recent novel is The Ash Museum . Her first novel for children, Shadow Cat Summer is published by Stairwell Books. An early version of it was shortlisted for The Kelpies Prize. Rebecca Smith is the author of three novels published by Bloomsbury: The Bluebird Café, Happy Birthday and All That, and A Bit of Earth. The innovative book on writing, The Jane Austen Writers’ Club: Inspiration and Advice from the World’s Best-Loved Novelist grew from Rebecca’s time as the writer in residence at Jane Austen’s House in Chawton, Hampshire. Her agony aunt book, Jane Austen’s Guide to Modern Life’s Dilemmas has also been published around the world. Rebecca also wrote the text for the picture book, Where’s Jane? Her next novel will be published by Legend Press in 2024. She lives in Hampshire and teaches creative writing at the University of Southampton.

Rights enquiries Lily Evans


Shadow Cat Summer
Modern Life's Dilemmas
The Ash Museum
Happy Birthday and All That
The Bluebird Cafe
Bit of Earth
Jane Austen Writer's Club