Ella Risbridger

Ella Risbridger (author), represented by Daisy Parente

Described by The Times as "the most talented new cookbook writer of a generation", Ella Risbridger's bestselling debut, Midnight Chicken (& Other Recipes Worth Living For), was described by Nigella Lawson as “a manual for living and a declaration of hope”. It was an Amazon Top 100 bestseller in hardback, a Waterstones bestseller in paperback, and won Cookbook of the Year at the Guild of Foodwriters Awards 2020. It was a Book of The Year 2019 in the Daily Mail, the Washington Post, the I, BBC Good Food Magazine, Radio 4’s The Food Programme and the Sunday Times. The follow-up, The Year Of Miracles (recipes about love + grief + growing things) was published in 2022.

Her poetry anthology for adults, Set Me On Fire: A Poem For Every Feeling, was published by Transworld in 2019. A poetry anthology for children, And Everything Will Be Glad To See You, was published by Nosy Crow in 2022.

Her children’s fiction debut, The Secret Detectives, was a WHSmith bestseller, and was praised by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Robin Stevens, and Katherine Woodfine.

Ella has written for the Guardian, the Observer, Grazia, Stylist, Waitrose Magazine and many more. Selected essays have been excerpted and reprinted in collections such as In The Kitchen and The Food Almanac. She has made multiple appearances on Radio 4, including Women's Hour and The Food Programme; featured in many podcasts; and is a regular guest on Caroline O’Donoghue’s award-winning Sentimental Garbage.​

Under a series of thinly disguised pen-names, she has also written (and ghost-written) several other books; essays; and websites.

Rights enquiries Lily Evans


And Everything Will be Glad to See You
The Year of Miracles: Recipes About Love + Grief + Growing Things
In the Kitchen: Essays on Food and Life
Midnight Chicken & Other Recipes Worth Living For
Set Me On Fire: A Poem For Every Feeling
The Secret Detectives