Helen Garner

Helen Garner (author), represented by Sarah Lutyens
© Darren James

Helen Garner writes novels, stories, screenplays and works of non-fiction. In 2006 she received the inaugural Melbourne Prize for Literature, and in 2016 she won the prestigious Windham–Campbell Literature Prize for non-fiction and the Western Australian Premier’s Book Award. In 2019 she was honoured with the Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature. Her books Monkey Grip, The Children’s Bach and This House of Grief were reissued by Weidenfeld & Nicolson in 2024. They will also publish Cosmo Cosmolino, Honour and Other People's Children, Stories, True Stories and her diaries Yellow Notebook, How to End a Story and One Day I'll Remember This.

AgentHelen Garner's agent: Sarah Lutyens on behalf of Text Publishing
Rights enquiries Text Publishing


This House of Grief
Monkey Grip
The Children's Bach